Wendy Vasicek

Jaimini or Parashara

In the last decade or so there has been a growing trend to apply Jaimini (Rashi specific) principles in conjunction with Parashari (Graha specific) dasa system.
Of course it's a matter of personal choice which system (Parashari or Jaimini) one chooses to work with. However, it's as erroneous to employ graha aspects and/or natural karakas along with Jaimini dasa system as it is to employ chara-karakas and/or Rashi aspects with Parashari dasa system. These are entirely different methods of prediction, each with its own unique set of rules, and should not be used together.

Hart Defouw and Robert Svoboda express this same view in their book 'Light On Life'.
"Many of the practitioners of Parashari Jyotish who employ Jaimini's
indicators are unaware that they form an integral part of the entirely
different system of interpretation that is Jaimini Jyotish. Some defend
this practice by saying that this method is part of the Parashari system,
since it is included in Brihat Parashara Hora, but this does not mean
that it is integral to Parashari Jyotish; It may have been a later addition.
To determine the significators for relatives by the Jaimini method and
then to use them in a Parashari mode to analyze relations causes
inherent contradictions. It is as illogical to use Jaimini significators with
Parashari aspects as it would be to use diesel fuel in a petrol engine."

The eminent astrologer Prof. P.S. Sastri in the preface to his translation of "Jaimini Sutram" says;
"The main principles outlined in these Aphorisms appear in the now available text of Parasara; "Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra". Several chapters present the system of Jaimini. These portions seem to be inserted into Parasara's text either by Parasara himself or by some other later writer. This is clear from a comparison of the principles outlined by Jaimini with those appearing in the other chapters of Parasara's text. If the student of Parasara is not careful, he will mix up the two systems and get himself in contradictions and confusions."

Gaining knowledge has never been easier than it is in this day and age. However, the ability to discern (to recognise or identify as separate and distinct) is vital if one is to grasp the essence of jyotish. This is not something that can be learnt simply by memorising sutras.
Perhaps the gods in their wisdom have purposely allowed the waters to become muddy in order to separate the wheat from the chaff (so to speak).
It really is important to, at the very least, have some understanding of the basic differences (shown in the following tables) between the two systems.
Rashi Aspects (Jaimini)
Graha Aspects (Parashara)
* Planets in a Cardinal sign aspect all the fixed signs except the sign located next to it.
* Planets in a Fixed sign aspect all the Cardinal signs except the sign previous to it.
* Planets in a Common sign aspect the other three Common signs.
* All Planets aspect the house opposite (7th from itself).
* Mars further aspects the 4th and 8th from itself.
* Jupiter further aspects the 5th and 9th from itself.
* Saturn further aspects the 3rd and 10th from itself.
* Rahu & Ketu have no aspect.
Cardinal (Movable) Signs:  Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn.
Fixed Signs:  Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.
Common (Dual) Signs:  Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.

Chara Karakas (Jaimini)
Natural Karakas (Parashara)
1. Atmakaraka: Self / Soul.
2. Amatyakaraka: Mind/Status
3. Bhratrukaraka: Siblings
4. Matrukaraka: Mother
5. Putrakaraka: Children
6. Gnatikaraka: Blood Relatives
7. Darakaraka: Spouse
* Sun: Self / Soul
* Moon: Mother
* Mars: Siblings
* Mercury: Blood Relatives
* Jupiter: Children
* Venus: Spouse
* Saturn: Servants
* Rahu: Paternal Grandparents
* Ketu: Maternal Grandparents
The chara karakas (from 1 to 7) are determined by the longitude of the planets. The planet with the highest longitude becomes Atmakaraka, 2nd highest is Amatyakaraka, 3rd highest is Bhratukaraka...and so forth.

Jaimini Dasa System
Vimshottari Dasa System
Jaimini system employs rasi (or sign) specific mahadasas.
The most commonly used are:
1) Chara-Dasa
2) Sthira-Dasa
3) Niryana-Shoola-Dasa
4) Navamsa-Dasa.
These unique sign-specific dasa systems form the backbone for the timing of events in Jaimini Astrology.
Parashari system uses graha (or planetary) specific mahadasas.
Parashara says;
">In Kali Yuga the natural life-span of a human being is generally taken as 120 years< .Therefore Vimshottari Dasha is considered to be the most appropriate and the best of all Dashas."
PS: The Bible also states that due to man's wickedness (Kali Yuga?) ">His days shall be 120 years<"
Other branches of Parashari, which are used primarily for delineating the effects of transits are;
1) Prashna Marga (or horary)
2) Ashtaka Varga system (a mathematical way of delineating a horoscope.)
Jaimini Badhaka Bhavas 
Parasari Trishadaya Bhavas
As per the Jaimini method, badhaka bhava is considered the most difficult (or harmful)...
For all movable signs, the 11th house therefrom becomes the badhaka sthana (bhava); for all fixed signs, the 9th therefrom is the badhaka sthana and for the dual signs, the 7th therefrom is the badhaka sthana.
For the 12  rising signs (lagnas), the badhakasthanas are:
1. Aries: Aquarius
2. Taurus: Capricorn
3. Gemini: Sagittarius
4. Cancer: Taurus
5. Leo: Aries
6. Virgo: Pisces
7. Libra: Leo
8. Scorpio: Cancer
9. Sagittarius: Gemini
10. Capricorn: Scorpio
11. Aquarius: Libra
12. Pisces: Virgo
Apart from the dusthana bhavas (trikasthanas 6,8,12), the most difficult, according to Parasara, is the 11th (trishadaya bhava).
The sages tell us that the trishadaya lords can signify difficulty and/or disease, especially when aspecting vulnerable bhavas/grahas.
For the 12 rising signs (lagnas), the most difficult trishadayas are:
1. Aries: Aquarius
2. Taurus: Pisces
3. Gemini: Aries
4. Cancer: Taurus
5. Leo: Gemini
6. Virgo: Cancer
7. Libra: Leo
8. Scorpio: Virgo
9. Sagittarius: Libra
10. Capricorn: Scorpio
11. Aquarius: Sagittarius
12. Pisces: Capricorn
It's important to note that Parasara has used Badhaka (only) in reference with Chara dasha and not in general application.
Badhaksthana is a Jaimini rasi based concept and should be used in conjunction with a rasi based dasa such as Chara dasa.
* NB: What may lead many students to believe strongly in the validity of badhakastana (in conjunction with Parasari system) is the fact that, for the movable signs (at least) i.e. Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn, 11th becomes a difficult house in both systems.

* Update Sep 2010:
Some also argue that 9th becomes badhaka (difficult house) when connected with the lord of 22nd drekkana or Gulika/Mandi--one and the same BTW!
Certainly reference to this is found in >BPHS Ch.25-70:<
"If Gulika is in the 9th, the native will undergo many ordeals, be emaciated, will perform evil acts, be very unkind, sluggish, and be a tale-bearer".
However, it would be a mistake to conclude (on this basis) that Jaimimi badhaka is part of Parashari system.

Jaimini Padas:
Although included in >BPHS<, padas are also part and parcel of Jaimini system of astrology...more information available >Here<.
No matter what system one is ultimately drawn to follow it's absolutely essential that the astrologer learns to differentiate between one system and the other. Mixing Jaimini principles with Parashara (and vice versa) is a common mistake of many astrologers.
My personal opinion is that what we now know as BPHS was not compiled by sage Parashara himself but much later from ancient Jyotish manuscripts found and translated by those with little ability to differentiate between Jaimini and Parashara. This simple error in judgment led to much of Jaimini being included in BPHS.
NB: This website, as well as >Jyotish-Vidya Discussion Group<, is devoted exclusively to Parashara system of astrology.


More Articles

© Copyright JyotishVidya.com, 2002 - 2012. All Rights Reserved