Adhyaya 1
Pada 1
Adhyaya 2
Right click anywhere for main menu


SU. 1. Upadesam vyakhyasyamah.
I shall now explain my work for the benefit of the readers and shall give them proper instructions to understand the subject.

SU. 2. Abhipasyanti rikshani.
The zodiacal signs aspect each other (in their front).

SU. 3. Parswabhe cha.
Excepting the next zodiacal signs to them.

SU. 4. Thannishthascha tadvat.
Those planets which occupy such signs will also aspect the planets found in such houses.

SU. 5.  Darabhagyasulasthargala nidhyatuh.
The fourth, second and eleventh places (or planets in them) from the aspecting body are Argalas.

SU. 6. Kamasthathu bhuyasa papanam.
Malefics in the third from the aspecting planet give rise to evil Argala.

SU. 7. Rihpha neechakamastha virodhinah.
Planets in the tenth, twelfth and third from Argala cause obstruction to such Argala.

SU. 8. Na nyuna vibalascha.
If planets obstructing Argala are fewer or less powerful than those causing Argala, then the power of Argala cannot be affected.

SU. 9. Pragvastrikone.
The houses or planets in trikonas (5 and 9) similarly influence the Argala.

SU. 10. Vipareetam kethoh.
In the case of Ketu the formation of Argala and obstruction to it must be calculated in the reverse order.

SU. 11. Atmadhikaha kaladibhirna bhogassaptanamashtamva.
Of the seven planets from the Sun to Saturn, or the eight planets from the Sun to Rahu, whichever gets the highest number of degrees becomes the Atmakaraka.

SU. 12. Saeeshtay bandhamokshayoh.
Atmakaraka gives bad and good results by virtue of malefic and benefic dispositions such as debility, exaltation, etc.

SU. 13. Thasyanusaranadamatyaha.
The planet who is next in kalas or degrees to Atmakaraka will become Amatyakaraka.

SU. 14. Tasya bhratha.
The planet who gets the highest number of degrees next to Amatyakaraka becomes Bhratrukaraka or gets lordship over brothers.

SU. 15. Tasya mriatha.
The planet who gets the highest number of degrees next to Bhratrukaraka becomes lord of the mother or Matrukaraka.

SU. 16. Tasya putraha.
The planet who is next in power in degrees to Matrukaraka becomes the lord of the children or Putrakaraka.

SU. 17. Thasya gnathihi.
The planet who gets less degrees than those of Putrakaraka becomes Gnathikaraka or lord of the cousins.

SU. 18. Thnsya darascha.
The planet who gets less degrees than the gnathikaraka becomes Darakaraka or lord of wife.

SU. 19. Matra saha putrameke samamananthi.
Some Acharyas or authors hold that the Matru and putrakarakas may be represented by one and the same planet, that is these two Bhavas, lordship of mother and children may be judged by the same planet.

SU. 20. Bhaginyurathassyalaha kaniyajjananee cheti.
Some say that from Kuja should be ascertained particulars regarding brothers and
sisters, brother-in law, younger brothers and step-mothers. Some others hold that predictions relating to step-mother should be made from the 8th house. However this latter view is not approved by all.

SU. 21. Mathuladayo bandhavo matrusojatiya ittyuttarataha.
From Mercury should be ascertained details relating to maternal uncles, maternal aunts and other maternal relations.

SU. 22. Pitamahou pathiputraviti gurumukhadeva janiyat.
From Guru the paternal grandmother and grandfather, the husband and children must be found out.

SU. 23. Patnipitarau swasurou matamaha ityante vasinaha.
From the next planet from Guru, viz., Sukra, the parents of the wife, or parents-in-law, paternal and maternal aunts, maternal grandfather and grandmother, and Ante Vasina or disciples must be found out.

SU. 24. Monzdojyayan Graheshu.
Among all the planets, Ravi, Chandra, Kuja, Budha, Guru, Sukra and Sani, Saturn is the least powerful.

SU. 25. Pracheevruttirvishamabheshu.
In all odd signs the counting must be in the right direction.

SU. 26. Paravrutyottareshu.
In even signs the counting must be in the reverse order.

SU. 27. Nakwachit.
In some places or signs this does not apply.

SU. 28. Nathaanthahasamapruyenu.
Many of the writers are of opinion, that the Rasi Dasa (period of the sign) extends over such number of years which are counted from the Rasi to the place where its lord is located.

SU. 29. Yavadeesasrayam padamrzukshanam.
Arudha Lagna is the point obtained by counting as many signs from the place of lord of Lagna as the lord of Lagna is removed from Lagna.

SU. 30. Swasthe daraha.
If Lagnadhipathi is in the 4th, then the 7th becomes Pada Lagna.

SU. 31. Sutasthe janma.
If the lord of Lagna is in the 7th from Lagna, then Lagna itself becomes Arudha Lagna.

SU. 32. Sarvatrasavarna bhavarasayaha.
All Rasis and Bhavas are studied by Varnada Lagna. Hence it will be explained in this aphorism.

SU. 33. Nagrahaha.
Varnada is not to be applied for the planets but only for Rasis. In all the sutras of Jaimini, the Ka, Ta, Pa, Yadi sutra of interpreting the language should not be applied to the planets. The author means that the grahas or the planets are designated by their various names and never by the letter system.

SU. 34. Yavadwivekamavrittirbhanam.
Divide Rasi Dasas by 12 and distribute the same to the 12 Rasis in proportion to the Rasi Dasa periods to get sub-periods. The counting should be from right to left if Lagna is odd sign and vice versa if even.

SU. 35. Horadayaha siddhaha.
From the general literature of Astrology learn all the details about Hora, Drekkana, Saptamsa, Navamsa, Dwadasamsa, Trimsamsa, Shashtiamsa, etc.

End of First Pada of the First Adhyaya